front master cylinder replacement

paulpops55

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have an aftermarket front master cylinder that I bought for my 83 Goldwing and didn't end up using. I was thinking about using it on one of my 80 SG's that I've changed to the superbike handlebars. Have any of you used one of the aftermaket master cylinders or am I looking for trouble by using this ?

It depends on the bore size. If it has a 14 mm bore then it will work just about the same as the stock M/C. If larger, as in 16mm or bigger, it will be harder to pull the lever and the brake won't be as effective. It may even at as an on/off switch. You pull the lever and nothing seems to happen, you keep pulling and suddenly the wheel locks up. Not fun.
A smaller, like 12 or 11 mm, the lever will pull a bit easier but you will feel what the brake is doing better and the grake will be morer effective.
Usually the bore size is marked on the M/C somewhere. The stock ones, on the M/C next to the bars. Others I have seen, on the bottom. They are marked in both inch sizes as well as metric. The stock ones I have are marked 5/8 which is 16 mm, off my 75. the later 14 mm are marked 14. Some of the cheap after market ones are not even marked.
Leo

if you have duals on your gold wing, the bore size is too big.
i have the one that is listed second on mikesxs mc brake list, with a stainless brakeline. stock rebiult caliper on my sg

angus, item #08-0255? That's a 13 mm bore. I have one very much like it. It works slightly better than the stock M/C with a single disc. Item # 08-4003 is an 11 mm bore, Much better with a single disc.
I have experemented with a 16 mm bore, 14 mm bore and the one I have like yours. I'm not sure if it is 12.7 or 13 mm. I have tried all these m/c's with both a single and dual disc brake set ups using the later single piston calipers.