gggGary's latest XS project "madness"

Thanks kind sir but the problem's not the rod. s'more pics.
KIMG6172.JPG
KIMG6173.JPG
KIMG6170.JPG
I see now someone had ground the hex off the bottom of the rod cuz it IS tight but the end of the MC piston getting pushed in by the swing arm when the shocks are compressed is the problem.
This is a fairly thin 4130 custom swing arm.
Just a pic from a junkerMCin the bins but the piston end exposed
KIMG6174.JPG

Last edited:
Well this is embarrassing!
View attachment 323720
I've been riding this bike off and on for twenty years. While doing "Jim created" work I pulled the swing arm for paint and a look see at the bushings etc. It wasn't til I was testing swing arm drop with no shocks attached that I realized why the rear brake rotor and pads showed more wear over the years than I would have expected, since this bike has a VERY effective front brake. I think this has been going on ever since a PPO installed the custom swing arm back in, oh the 1990's :doh:
It's not real obvious.... Like I said, didn't notice til I was running the swing arm through it's range up 'n down.
Don't have a definitive solution yet.
The rod doesn't touch the arm when the brake pedal is on the pivot shaft that's not the problem....
Kinda lucky it didn't cause a nasty surprise, though I did do a lurid rear wheel slide entering a corner when I first got it that I ascribed to a too old tire!

Ooooopsy!

So, what were the 5 little "fixes"? I think I see a bit of a "groove" ground into the top corner on the swingarm. A little off the MC mounts too I assume?

So, what were the 5 little "fixes"? I think I see a bit of a "groove" ground into the top corner on the swingarm. A little off the MC mounts too I assume?
Thanks for your interest.
The swing arm is a custom so....