Hello from Kansas!

Augie

Augie
Reaction score
Greetings fellow XS 650ers. I'm a 20y/o TIG Welder from Central Kansas, lived here all my life. I caught the motorcycle bug when I was in early high school. Scratched up enough money by the end of senior year to buy and build a CB 750. It wasn't anything special, lots of cobbled togetherness but it sure was cool being the only kid my age on a motorcycle in the whole town, especially one I had taken apart down the bare frame!

I picked up a 78 650 about half a year ago and have been lurking here since that time. The reason I bought one, is simply the picture below. Enough said. I then searched all over and under the internet for pictures of that specific bike. It belongs to a guy at a shop in Colorado called Three Pence. He shreds the thing and I love it, so that's what I'm fixing to do with mine when she's finished.

5b197ce7-4589-4da0-a917-727b006c7333_zpskm4pih8n.jpg

Here's what I started with and where I'm at.

IMG_3151_zps8kex0jcr.jpg

R1 front end on and a stainless battery box fabbed up. Later changed the route I'm going so its now up for grabs if someone wants it.
IMG_3541_zpsg9l6my8e.jpg

IMG_3639_zpsuhziwgrv.jpg

IMG_3641_zpsegvqe7am.jpg

IMG_3642_zpsr42he4vm.jpg

She makes a nice lamp stand if I do say so myself.
IMG_3665_zpstgcybhe7.jpg

IMG_3706_zps6mgagxtp.jpg

:thumbsup:

What you have done looks good. You can toss a lot of money into these old bikes. If you just want to toss dirt. A good rebuild # 1 Shell cam some good RD springs and some head work. The rephrase is for sissy chopper riders who can't handle vibes.

Thanks for the kind words and advice scabber. I'm also looking to ride this thing long distance on old highways and such, along with thrashing in the dirt. After quite a bit of research the rephase sounds like a no brainer, plus I have the motor this far apart so why not?? Maybe I'll throw in some head work too while I'm at it per your recomendation!

Hi Augie,