Help a new guy install a pamco

smiles79

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hey all, I just got my Basic High Output Pamco Ignition to install on my mainly stock 75 xs 650, and I just have a few quick questions.

1. the instructions say don't apply power till installation is complete. Does this mean to disconnect the battery?
2. It says to remove the two coils and condensers. I imagine the coils are the cylinders with the spark plug wires coming out of them, but where are the condensers located and what do they look like?
3. I've heard recommendations of installing a fuse. Thoughts? amperage and where to put it?

Thanks everyone, I'm pretty new to electrical work and motorcycles in general.

Smiles

smiles79,

1. That would be best, but pulling the fuse will do the same thing.
2. Here is a pic of the condensers. There are two of them and they are in the same package.

26-5114.jpg

The condensers are located in the upper motor mount near the frame cross bar. You can leave them there as long as you disconnect and don't use them.

3. The 7 1/2 A fuse should be wired in between the wire from the kill switch and the coil terminal that also feeds the red wire to the PAMCO. Suggest that you lengthen the wires to the fuse holder so you can put it under the seat for easy access.

Got it installed and works great!

How should the plugs be gapped with the high output version?

Try using 0.035" gap. Thats what I use with my Accel coil (with a Pamco), and it gives great power and excellent gas consumption.

While we're talking spark plugs, don't put anything on the threads; turn them in using your fingers, so you don't cross thread them. Torque to 14 ft-lbs.

It's a 75,000 volt coil by the way, I don't know if that's different than yours and maybe I would gap mine different than you gap yours?