Help a newbie on a road trip!

stereobongoes

Reaction score
Hi all,

In a few weeks I'm looking at doing my first road trip to pick up a newly purchased '77 650D in Chicago and ride it back to my home in Brooklyn.

I have an '80 XSG (Special II), my first XS but not my first bike. Still, I'm a newbie. I've been riding it for a couple of years but haven't put many miles on it because I travel for work and am frequently out of town for most of our too short season here in NYC. It also took my whole first season with it to get the charging system sorted but that's another saga...

I know there are a few reasons not to do such a trip with my minimal experience on a bike I don't yet know but that's why I'm reaching out here.

First I'd like some advice on mapping a route. I want to get home quickly but I'd rather avoid the interstate highways as much as possible. I'm hoping for two days of riding (Chicago to Cleveland, then Cleveland to BK) but it's 860 mi so maybe 3 days.

Second and most importantly, I'm wondering how many forum members are on or near that route just in case I get into a jam. I am not Mr Fix It. The bike is coming from a dealer so I can assume certain things have been checked and that it's tuned and yada yada but I'd feel better if I know who to call if I break down in Cleveland.

Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated!
-SB

Wow. 860 miles on an unknown bike. Brass ball award goes to if you make it. Good luck
Haha!
I don't have to, I could park it at my cousin's in Milwaukee and deal with it later. And I wouldn't even consider such a thing if it was a $1200 bike from Craigslist. This one has a 750 kit, VM34s, newish custom exhaust, custom paint. I think it's been cared for. The salesman vouched for the mech that did the 750 kit, and the fact that it's coming from a reputable Yamaha dealer tells me that it's been tuned and wrenched recently so I have some trust that it's as reliable as any 30 yr old bike would be. But maybe I'm just naive.