Help! Bike runs perfect for 10 min then dies

Ben42

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I have an 80 xs650 special. I've been riding it for 3 yrs now and have done minimal work as it is in good condition.

I just took it out for the season after it sat in my garage for 2 months. It has a new AGM battery I put in when I bought it.

The problem:
I start it, it warms up, turns over, after 10 to 15 min riding and/or idling it shuts off instantly. No petering, no gag, just OFF.
It can't be kicked or elec. started after it dies. After about an hour I can start it but it stays on for 5 min. The headlights and turn signals all operate normal through all of this.

I had the ignition coil checked and reads inline spec. I also thoroughly cleaned the carbs and new petcock. I dont believe it is a fuel issue...

I called a couple of shops in town and they said it could be the stator going bad. It seems like its warming up and an electric part is turning off.

I'm out of ideas and wanted to see if I'm missing something before I take it to my one overpriced shop in town.

Many times an ignition coil will fail when hot but work fine when cold(er). If you had yours tested cold then it might still be the issue. The fact that the bike started again after sitting and cooling down some is also in line with the coil failing only when hot.

Ben42, your Oregon location is vague however there are some small privately owned shops who do good work for a fair cost.
In the Portland west hills is Cycle Metrics. Gary, the owner and one man operator is one of those few very honest and competent private motorcycle shops left. He was infact a Yamaha dealer when the "Specials" did come out and knows Yamahas very well
His shop is up in the west hills and riding those curvy roads there are fun as well.
Bonus, he is friendly and has spare parts.
https://cycle-metrics.business.site/
;)
Depending on the whole situation, sometimes a private shop diagnosis is a good choice.

Last edited: