how much oil and what type?

FastColt

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Im finally ready to fire this thing up today. What oil do I need and how much of it?

That depends how far torn apart you had it. Usually between 2 1/4 to 2 1/2 quarts somewhere (you'll need to buy 3 quarts). Fill to midway between the low and full mark on the stick. Most of us use a normal 20-50 or 15-40 diesel oil. Spec was 20-40 but the only place that sold that was a Yamaha shop.

if you're gonna use diesel oil use rotella 15w-40 as its the only one i found with the JASO MA rating (wet clutch rating).

I use the Rottela and have noticed a positive difference. Better shifting, less clutch slippage, and the valves sound a little smoother.

+ another 1 on Rotella T 15w-40. I've been using it in motorcycles since 1978 with no oil related problems. And make sure the bike is standing level (not on a side stand and not on a hill) and the dip stick ISN'T threaded in when you check it.

The only thing that gives me pause about Rotella in the summer is the chart at the bottom of this page. He checks out on things a lot more complicated than this, so I can't just dismiss him.

http://www.dansmc.com/4stroke_oil.htm

I started using Rotella in the 1970s when I noticed the Harley-Davidson oil recommended by the factory was foaming in my oil tank.

That didn't make sense to me. But I knew foamed oil couldn't lubricate very well. I tried several other oils and they foamed too.

It didn't make sense because I knew that gasoline burns at something like 700 Degrees but having already been a truck driver for several years I was used to seeing Pyrometers on diesel engines constantly at 1700-2100 Degrees and that oil never foamed. (Pyrometers measure the temperature of the oil as it passes through the diesel's turbocharger.)

So I put Rotella T in my Harley and the foaming stopped.

So apparently it's not 100% about the weight of the oil and something to do with the ability of the oil not to break down, ie foam.