How to wire cheap speedo

AussiXS

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
A title I have been searching for, and other, with no answers to find :(. So I thought I would post it so this can be a place to be the definitive guide to installing an aftermarket speedo with current set up.

My prediciment:
I have a Jap import 78, its got stock harness. I am swapping out the current speedo, rev and lighting cluster. The new one has a backlight, neutral, blinker light, high beam and no rev counter. The issue is that I have to cut down from like 18 wires down to 7. How do I get the right wires in the right place? The neutral light, for instance, is Green on my speedo but requires a brown and aqua on the stock. How do I put 2 wires into one without it blowing up? There are 2 black wires, one for ground and another for the power for all warning lights of the speedo. What goes where?

I am quite new to this but I understand it needs to be a loop but I cant just attached 5 wires to the 1 power cable can I? I just dont want to blow shit up.

Ps, any ideas how to plug the rev cable hole in engine?

Images

Attachments

• IMG_4354.JPG
    IMG_4354.JPG
    87.5 KB · Views: 841
  • IMG_4356.PNG
    IMG_4356.PNG
    343.2 KB · Views: 315
The other lights will be easy once you get them figured out..........but........the neutral light is the tricky one since all of the lights in that gauge probably use the same ground wire and the YAMAHA has the cursed switched ground for the neutral light, if it were a Honda this would be no problem. I have my similar gauge figured out but maybe someone else could do a better job explaining this. Will check your thread again tomorrow.

EDIT - NIX on that neutral light rant, you do have a separate ground for the gauges' neutral light, your gauge is more "universal" than mine.

Scott

Last edited:
After extensive research, years of education and accidental experience

gauge black #1 to harness black

gauge blue to harness yellow

gauge yellow to harness green