Ignition problems

Marksxs650

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey I'm new to this cite also mechanics and I have a big problem. My XS650 is not running great it is backfiring out of the left exhaust it runs rough, it fouls plugs within a week, and it gets worse every time i change the plugs. i tired to fix the ignition timing with a timing light and its still not working. I'm at a loss right now does anyone have an idea as to what is going on?

I'm guessing you have points ignition. If you have two ignition coils switch the coils and see if the bad side changes to the right. I'd suspect a weak coil first.

Ok, not as familiar with that as some here, but would still suspect a weak coil first. They sometimes develop high voltage shorts instead of just quitting and the result is what you describe. You can measure the coil with an ohmmeter and if it reads bad it's bad, but if it reads good it could still be bad because the meter tests using low voltage

If it has two, just exchange the spark plug wires, leaving them on the coils, no other changes. If the problem doesn't go to the right, test compression on the left, The rule of thumb is good compression should blow your thumb off of the spark plug hole :)

The Pamco is designed to work with a single coil, a dual output one (2 plug wires). If the coil you have tests bad, a cheap, dependable replacement is a used Honda MP08 coil, about $10 - $20 on eBay.

My XS650 is not running great it is backfiring out of the left exhaust it runs rough, it fouls plugs within a week, and it gets worse every time i change the plugs.
You titled this Ignition problems, but based on that description I'd suspect the left carb.
Is the right cylinder running OK?