Intro - Hi From Olympia

RonXS

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Hi I'm Ron from Olympia, Washington. I've recently received a free '79 XS650. Free in this case is a bit subjective as the PO had started to part-out the bike. All I know is PO said that the bike was running on only one cylinder. So that means there will be parts buying and trouble shooting to get this bike back on the road. :bike: This will be a puzzle... Good thing I like puzzles. :)

Picture of the 1979 XS650
MFrALFP.jpg

sui0FW2.jpg

I'm new to XS650s but not new to motorcycling. Started off with a '77 RD400 in '77 (Loved that little rocket). Definitely in to cafe styling. Here's a couple of my previous projects.

1978 SR500 'BSA Replica'
Ekglbkj.jpg

1998 Honda VTR1000
SZISSnh.jpg

UWzlaLV.jpg

RqktFLP.jpg

2001 Moto Guzzi V11
7cajWPI.jpg

Last edited:
I've recently received a free '79 XS650. Free in this case is a bit subjective as the PO had started to part-out the bike.

Listen, Ron, free is free! Let's not quibble - congratulations on your new bike.

This is a great forum and I think a great community as well. You will receive plenty of help from the good people here to get the bike up and running. And take heart, the Yamaha XS650 is a good old-fashioned sturdy bike.

Nice XS650 you scored for free. Any ideas where to go with it? Have you checked the engine/chassis numbers to see what year/model in case things have been changed during its history? Here is a link to VIN and Model identification (similar data is also compiled on this forum in the Tech Section):
https://thexscafedotcom.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/xs650-model-year-model-code-engine-number/

Thesxcafedotcom is just one of my favorates for VIN data and bike Manuals.

Welcome.... Olympia …. memories... use to live north of there... Great beer commercials….
You have a open palette..... no restraints.. concerns abut stock.... a excellent time for..... bobber… cafe'....