I've got 99 problems...and they all involve my XS

Yes, you need a float bowl gasket. Without it, the bowl is sitting a MM or so closer to the floats and jets. That may be enough to stop the floats from dropping enough to let gas in or maybe enough to block fuel flow to the main jet. With pipes and pods, I would try 137.5 or 140 mains. And yes, get brass ones. The large round main is very common and you should be able to find them at a local shop. I have at least 3 in my area that I buy my mains and pilots from - and genuine Mikuni ones to boot.

I registered just so I could get in on this. I HAD to let you know how similar our bike journey is. The only difference is that I am about 2 months ahead of you so let me share what I've learned. That being said, I am no mechanic and I just got into bikes. It was muscle cars before this and only SOME of that knowledge transferred. And the one thing I've learned is that no one can tell you how to fix your car/bike just like no one can tell you how to raise your kids. Advice should be taken with a grain of salt. Hope this helps.
The kick thing, I wouldn't worry about it. Seriously. You have an old bike and old shit happens to old bikes. I've noticed that with mine if I don't complete a full kick it will stick. Next time that happens just make sure its all the way up before you kick again. It can get frustrating after 20 mins of kicking. Just have a beer, a smoke and make sure you are kicking it all the way down and letting it come all the way up. If you have further issues with it please investigate. If not leave it be and work on something more important.