Just got a 79 special

Endee

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hi all,
Just purchased a 79 special last night. I've wanted one of these for years and finally found ine for a good price.
It runs well enough but the carbs not set correctly. I'm pretty sure it's idling high, but I don't have a tach to check actual numbers. There is also a big flat spot right off of idle. Seems to pull fine on the rest of the circuit. I haven't pulled the carbs yet so I'm not sure what anything is set at.
The front brake is also weak. I've never done brake work before so I don't know what to do there or if that is common with these bikes. It doesn't pulse or squeak or stick. I will squeeze the lever all the way back and there isn't much stopping power the the front brake.

Hi Endee and welcome,
why no tach?
There's all manner of carb "how to's" in the tech section and search button but the MOST important thing is to clean them.
Your described front brake action shows it ain't right.
As built the '77 & newer front brake will squeal the tire if it's reefed on but feels like wood because the stock master cylinder is too big.
There's all manner of "how to's" about that too.

Hi Endee and welcome,
why no tach?
There's all manner of carb "how to's" in the tech section and search button but the MOST important thing is to clean them.
Your described front brake action shows it ain't right.
As built the '77 & newer front brake will squeal the tire if it's reefed on but feels like wood because the stock master cylinder is too big.
There's all manner of "how to's" about that too.

It has the stock tach which sits at 1500 rpm with the engine off, so I dont trust it.