Keeps popping main fuse....

mrpink

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Riding home from a buddies last night, bike running very well. All of the sudden, black. Nothing. Coasted off to the side of the road and walked it to a safe place to work on it. Found the main 20A fuse blown. Got a lift to a gas station to get a replacement. Popped it in and it started right up, only now, the headlight was not working. Got it about another couple of miles up the road and it blew again, this time I was near a school with a large, well lit parking lot so I left it there for the night. Trailered it home this afternoon.

I have done zero inspection on it, just looking for a good place to start. I have little to no experience with electrical issues so use small words and talk slowly....

thanks

matt

The most likely thing is worn off insulation causing a short to ground. Maybe up in the headlight. Although it could be a bad component. First thing I would probably do is disconnect the battery and put a meter on the cable and the other side on the frame and move wires around until the meter flips a low resistance to ya. It's handy if the meter has a continuity test that beeps at you when it sees low resistance. You'll know the short is somewhere in that vicinity and then you can track it all the way down.

The most likely thing is worn off insulation causing a short to ground. Maybe up in the headlight. Although it could be a bad component. First thing I would probably do is disconnect the battery and put a meter on the cable and the other side on the frame and move wires around until the meter flips a low resistance to ya. It's handy if the meter has a continuity test that beeps at you when it sees low resistance. You'll know the short is somewhere in that vicinity and then you can track it all the way down.