Lesters Swing Arm bobber, Brat type build thread

Lester

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
Hello guys,

Its time for me to finally start a build thread. I had huge plans on building a hard tail bobber but the wife all of a sudden said she wanted a bobber too, I told her all about these cool swingarm bobbers... thinking it would be easier to build and better for her to ride. Well I stated looking at the different kits on the market and all the diferent build and I really started likeing them and decided to go that rout my self.... so here is the deal.... I'm planing on building two of these Brat Style swing arm bobber bikes this winter.... pretty ambisious time wise and especially being on a family of 5 budget so I cann't go nuts shopping and time is an issue. I cann't waste persious shop time side tracking and reading the shop manual... I need to be prepared. I'm new to XS650s so I hope you guys can help out when I ask all the stupid questions that are obvious to the seasoned XS addict.

The bikes....

full

My bike is an 1980 US Custom in pretty good shape, picked it up at a fair price as i had a malfunction starter and a starter seal oil leak as well. I fixed the leak and rode it kick only all summer and it performed well, started easy and no major issues... have also got a replacement starter since then so I will sort that bit out

full

The wifes bike was a barn find also a 1980 US Custom.... it has been sitting in a barn with a new overhauled engine that wouldn't start after overhauling since 1994. So a few more issues with the engine but all new inners to work with. Drive train and brakes looks like its seen better days too.