Little Wheel Help

Sud_City_Ginger

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone. Pretty new to the site and really new to these bikes. Picked up a 1979 basket case from a guy and went with a TC Bros hard tail. Picked up some wire wheels from a guy who said he had them on a 79 project as well. Had them shipped to me and went to put them on to start my build. Unfortunately the front wheel shaft doesn't fit int he front forks. I have a set of forks from a CB350 and they fit....they are more narrow and fit nicely on the shaft ends. Then on the back wheel, the hub is too wide. The section with the sprocket is way to wide for the TC Bros back end.

Any suggestion on what to do? I have to figure out how to get the shaft out of the front wheel but I hope I can just swap that out. The back wheel, do I need to lace a new hub or can the sprocket part be switched out? Thanks in advance! I am new to all this.

IMG_6872.JPG IMG_6873.JPG IMG_6874.JPG IMG_6875.JPG IMG_6876.JPG

Hey Everyone. Pretty new to the site and really new to these bikes. Picked up a 1979 basket case from a guy and went with a TC Bros hard tail. Picked up some wire wheels from a guy who said he had them on a 79 project as well. Had them shipped to me and went to put them on to start my build. Unfortunately the front wheel shaft doesn't fit int he front forks. I have a set of forks from a CB350 and they fit....they are more narrow and fit nicely on the shaft ends. Then on the back wheel, the hub is too wide. The section with the sprocket is way to wide for the TC Bros back end.
Any suggestion on what to do? I have to figure out how to get the shaft out of the front wheel but I hope I can just swap that out. The back wheel, do I need to lace a new hub or can the sprocket part be switched out? Thanks in advance! I am new to all this.

View attachment 131337 View attachment 131338 View attachment 131339 View attachment 131340 View attachment 131341

Hi Ginger and welcome,