Looking for help, building a bobber.

Steven1972XS650

XS650 New Member
Reaction score
I have a 1972 Yamaha XS 650, it was a "barn find" for around 400 dollars and I'm looking to make a bobber out of it or at least something that is very bobber like.

When I think of a bobber, I think of WW 2 vets coming home, most weren't rich or famous, who needed an escape from life. Their bikes were that escape and each was very unique.

My deceased Grandfather whom everyone called "Butch" was very talented at making bikes and even made a 3 wheeler that was featured in a magazine. He put a 351 Cleveland in his 63 split-window Corvette. He was very mechanically inclined, as is my father.

I on the other hand, know basics. I can do some wiring, oil changes ect., but I'm far from an expert. Which is why I'm here to inquire and learn all I can.

I'm looking to make what I call the "Captain America" bike, an ode to Marvel's character and the Armed forces of America. I want a very powerful and gritty bike, but also a little minimalistic. I already have the perfect color scheme.

But, as someone completely new to bikes I'm looking for any advice I can get. What should I start with first, what should get modified and what should I leave stock? Should I get a new frame, or keep the same? What are some good dual exhaust pipes? I like some 1929 blacked Ford lights I found, what would I have to do to get them to fit my Yamaha? Where's some good places to find all these parts and supplies? How much money am I looking at?

Really, anything and everything helps! How to vids or anything you can think of, as I want to do this myself. I think you get a great sense of freedom, individuality and accomplishment from knowing that you did something yourself. With your knowledge and know how of course.