MikesXS Electronic Ignition Kit

rbirkey

TriumphBonneville.org
Reaction score
Greeting to all,

I am new to this forum having recently decided to help a buddy who purchased a 1977 Yamaha XS650D with less than 9,000 miles on it. We are in the process of rebuilding it and getting it running.

I have lots of experience with Triumph Bonneville's but this is my first Yamaha XS650 project. I run a forum similar to this one at https://newbonnevilleriders.com/forum/

Based on recommendations from Ethan at MikesXS, I purchased the kit described: Ultimate Electronic Ignition with E-Advancer/XSCharge PMA Package, found at https://www.mikesxs.net/yamaha-xs65...ion-with-e-advancer-xscharge-pma-package.html

After receiving the kit and starting the process, I discovered that the "Installation Instructions" are far from complete. It appears that MikesXS is not willing or able to provide enough detail and resources to allow me to finish this installation on my own.

Have any of you purchased this kit or parts of it, and would be willing to shed some light on that process?

I am blogging about the project here: https://triumphbonneville.org/project/1977-yamaha-xs650d/

Thanks for any advice and help you can offer!

Randy

yamaha-on-stand-header.jpg
PMA-ignition-chain.jpg

Attachments

• ignition-kit.jpg
    ignition-kit.jpg
    79.8 KB · Views: 364
rbirkey, welcome here.
A 77D is a fine XS650.
XS650.com tech advice is the best there is. Today is just a little slow. Hang in there.
MikesXS is maybe not the best first phone call , or second .,
Your bike looks great :thumbsup:

Hi Randy... and welcome!!
but as Machine (also a Randy) said, hang around... someone will chime in eventually. Meantime, click on the 'Search Forums' button at the top and try your luck at finding the info you need. I'm sure it's in here somewhere.