Mikesxs stock coil replacement connections

79josh81

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
So I ordered two replacement coils from mikesxs (the ones for the original points system). I went to swap them in and noticed that the male and female terminals are swapped on the wire colors compared to the stock coils. Will they work normal if I hook them up how they are? Or do I have to rewire the connectors (which would be lame).

I tried searching the forums for the answer and found some insight but I’m still confused as to whether they’ll work fine the way they are. I’m new to xs650 electrical stuff but I’m trying to understand it better. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

You'll get spark either way, but here's a pic of the coil wiring.
70-70_CoilWiring.jpg

The proper wiring has the common tie point in the coil going to the points. Backwards wired primaries may cause some points arcing, and unwanted voltage spikes on the power feed line. You'd need to do a few combinations of probes of the coil wires with a good meter to determine this, looking for 8k +/- 4ohms. Don't think a budget meter would be up to the task.

I'd have to think about this awhile to cook-up a definitive test...

Edit: Another, better pic.

70-70_CoilWiring2.jpg

Last edited:
Could one tell by where the wires enter the coil? The originals have the orange (points) wire entering closer to the spark plug wire, brown (power) wire farther back .....

PAzSKOS.jpg