My Build

jimed

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
This is my first build so I want to give a little history about what I have done so far. This might be kind of lengthy but I hope you enjoy it.

Here she is in the beginning a 1981 Special Craigslist find of $250.
IMG_1854.jpg
She wasn’t running had no spark and ok compression but no problem I knew what I wanted and who I wanted to do it for the power plant, exhaust system, and frame.

The first thing I did was contact GreatScott about a set of pipes. I sent him a set of old Harley fishtails and a picture of what I wanted and here’s what I got in return.

Greatscott2.jpg

Greatscott1.jpg

GreatScott’s craftsmanship is outstanding and the fit was perfect. All of this in only 2 weeks.

Next I contacted Paul Bertaut (PaulSales) about doing my engine build. We agreed on a complete rebuild with the following additions MikesXS 750CC Big Bore Kit, 420 Lift Billet Cam, springs,etc., 36mm Mikuni Carbs, Pamco Ignition with Green Monster coil, MikeXS overdrive 24 tooth 5th gear, Long one-piece clutch pushrod, performance oil filter & cooler kit, Pro-port head porting, and bead blasting the entire engine. I sent Paul my engine with full payment the end of May expecting it back in about 4 weeks like we agreed but on August 17 he emails me and informs me MikeXS is out of the 750 kits until the first of the year. Not sure why he didn’t order it in June when Mike had 511 kits but that’s another story for later. Just can’t wait to get this baby back.

I knew I wanted Rich at G&L to do my frame, fake oil tank/battery box, and forward controls so after striking a deal with G&L, I cut the frame and sent her to G&L to be transformed. Several weeks later she came back home.
xs650003.jpg

I knew she was going to be beautiful but I had no idea just how gorgeous she would be after her surgery.