• Yes, not expensive

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No, expensive

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Grimmith

Samurai
Reaction score
I'm getting a 79 xs650 in two days, and plan on getting what I need to make it run. Any recomendations on websites for parts or aftermarket parts? I'ts been in a garage for six years but still is in pretty good shape. Anything thing I should look for right away? I'm a bit new to bikes for building and restoring. Also, is it possible to "chop" the bike but retain a two passenger seat?
bike.png

Welcome to the forum, GrimmIth.

First 2 things that come to mind on that bike:

Remove the tank and post up some crisp/clear closeup pics of the raked neck area, so the frame builders and welders here can inspect any welding in there.

Second is the centerstand. It has no stop, and is swinging up enuff to contact the drivechain...

Last edited:
Yeah I noticed that to, its hard to tell if its actually hitting the chain, but like i said I have to go over the whole thing with pics once I get it. I was thinking a out lowering the rear a couple inches, can I make it an off road chopper? haha

What a shame ..... that was one of the most coveted 650 models around, a 1979 Standard. They didn't make a whole lot of them. Now it's all fucked up. I'd be afraid to even drive it with that raked out neck and extended forks. Probably handles about as well as a moped doing 90, lol.

Are you sure it's raked? I just bought one that I thought was raked out and it turned out it was just the extended forks playing tricks with the eyes.

It *could* be an optical illusion, but with a mild fork extension and level-appearing frame, it seems to me to be raked a little. Kinda like this one:

WORBOYS10001.jpg