My First Build Ever, 81 XS650, Lets see how this goes...

Nick87James

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I picked up this 81 a few days ago and rode it home, it runs decent, definetly needs the carbs cleaned out and adjusted(Which I've never done before) And then ordering my TC Bros Hardtail and then on from there... This is my progress after the First day, I got some tear down done and cleaned out the carbs, but I have to get some new gaskets for the carbs before they are finished. I have been labeling every single wire possible to hopefully help me out in the long run...

Attachments

• IMG_0496.jpg
    IMG_0496.jpg
    183.1 KB · Views: 291
  • IMG_0498-1.jpg
    IMG_0498-1.jpg
    248.3 KB · Views: 255
  • IMG_0497.jpg
    IMG_0497.jpg
    239.9 KB · Views: 256
  • IMG_0499.jpg
    IMG_0499.jpg
    260.9 KB · Views: 234
  • IMG_0500.jpg
    IMG_0500.jpg
    231.8 KB · Views: 241
  • IMG_0501.jpg
    IMG_0501.jpg
    248.6 KB · Views: 266
Welcome! I'll be watching this thread, got an 81 HS myself! Mine is in bits though!
All completely new to me too!!

Good luck and do carry on!:thumbsup:

Thanks man, I'm excited, kinda nervous too, just want to do things right... I also just ordered a powder coating kit and some eastwood media so I cant wait to try that out... And my Hardtail from TC Bros, Now I just gotta find someone who can weld, I've never done it before...

Last edited:
Well heres an update, I finally got to work on it some more, tried out the powder coat on the handlebar clamps, they look good. I also got my hard tail and engine stand from tc bros in the mail. Just gotta keep working:thumbsup:

IMG_0513.jpg

IMG_0517.jpg

IMG_0518.jpg

IMG_0516.jpg

IMG_0520.jpg

IMG_0519.jpg

More work done tonight, just need to clean things up and get it welded up, also waiting for more funds to start ordering some of the parts I have been checking out...
Any advice for the newbie is welcome, thanks.

IMG_0532.jpg

IMG_0533.jpg

IMG_0534.jpg

IMG_0536.jpg