Narrow springer build for my xs chopper.

neanderthal

neanderthal
Reaction score
ive been working on a narrow springer build that im about to finish up and thought that i'd share it with you guys. This is my first springer build, but i have been wanting to build on for a long time now. Im not a professional, just a back yard mechanic that is learning as i go. I just finished up my chopper build, just have to get the turn signals wired in, mount a kill switch and wire it in and dial in the carbs.

These are older pictures:

Once I get the springer on I plan on narrow apes, and a king/queen seat. I will also move the tail light and plate to the top of the rear fender.

Last edited:
I started off, buy drawing out the trees, spring perch, rockers and whatever the other parts are call out on thicker stock paper. After cutting them out i traced them out onto the steel.

Im lucking and get to use a lot of the tools and equipment in my fab class. the space and being able to work off the ground is super nice too.

taking a hole saw bit i cut out the holes before cutting the shapes out. After that i take it to a grinder and then a belt sander to smooth it out a bit.

Here are the rear fork tubes, i took solid 1.25" round and turned a section down to .75" so it would fit ithe tube. Then took a torch to the other end a cut the grooveds in it. Sanding it to shape it and drilled a hole in it.

take some solid .75" round, drill a hole and tap it. this goes in the top of the rear for tube. Weld it in and I have a way of holding my top tree in place.

Here is the start of a couple bungs i made for the looped front fork.

back to the rear fork. Here that piece i turned down to fit it the rear tube. it has been tig welded in and had the welds blended in.

for the top tree, i used a slightly larger hole saw and cut out two circles out of .25" plate so the fork leg could rest inside it.