Need info on wiring a 1981 xs650 special NEUWWBB!

dannydeadway

XS650 Member
Reaction score
How's it going guys i just recently picked up a 81' xs650 special. I was told the bike needed a new stator but it still fired up while on a trickle charger. When i got the bike back to my shop i hooked my 12v battery to it and what do you know SMOKE. i quickly disconnected the battery, and found the kid had the fuse rigged together other then buys a 25 cent fuse. so i pulled the harness off the bike and tried to salvage what i could. but the wires leading to the rec/reg plug were tosted.

what my questions are, do i have to unground the stator with nylon screws?
And how do i wire in my cdi box to the coils.

i'm new to wiring and really want to get this bike up and going so i can move on with building it. I'm not running the the starter. kick only. If anyone could help with a schematic
or brake down with the cdi box it would be GREATLY!! appreciated!!

dannydeadway, firstly, welcome to the forum, second, let's see if we can't get you riding that 81.

My motto: 'Love everyone, trust no-one' applies in this case, and to nearly every PO there ever was.

So: get yourself a multimeter - an important tool you will be needing. If there was smoke and rigged up fuses, expect chaos in there. Save what you can, check all connections, and earth/ground before you do anything else.

You have an 81, so no nylon screws required.

If the charging system is shot, don't risk a good battery just to get it going. Using your inexpensive multimeter you can test the stator, the rotor, the regulator/rectifier, the CDI, and, of course the battery - and find elusive short-circuits.

Why don't you look on the site for a wiring diagram that is suitable for your needs, and post questions as they arise.

Begin with looking at the videos and threads on how to test the charging system. If you can't find them - ask!

Good luck, and be patient.

Anlaf