Need to add front brake to Harley front forks or springer with brake

Silverguy80

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I have recently bought a 1978 xs650 that is foot clutch hand shift no front brake. I ride in extremely crazy heavy traffic. Also this is my first time riding a setup like this. So I would like to add front disc brake to my bike. I wish I could add dual disc brake but so far don't think it's possible and I am on a budget. So far I know it has a sportster or narrow glide front on it. The fork lowers or sliders have been turned so no tabs available to add brakes also no way to add disk to the 23" spoke spool front wheel. It has 35mm fork tubes. I am thinking that I can switch the lower sliders to one's that have tabs for brakes and switch the wheel (want to stay 23") then add brake hand controls on left side of handle bar. Ok now depending on the cost of that...could I just switch to a narrow springer that is setup for disc brake and switch the wheel to one that works with the springer? If so what length springer do I get and how do I figure out what to get as I am not trying to change the stance of the bike.
Current setup measures 35mm fork tubes.
Top of triple tree to enter of axle is 27.75"
Top of cap on fork tube above triple tree to bottom of fork tube is 29.75"
Front wheel axle looks to be 7/8".

Any help figuring out how and what to do would be greatly appreciated. 20180501_111038.jpg 20180501_104050.jpg

Attachments

• 20180501_104058.jpg
    20180501_104058.jpg
    146.5 KB · Views: 295
From where I'm sitting, you should be checking the forum classifieds and ebay for:
Master cylinder
Brake hose
Front Caliper
A lower fork leg w/ the tabs still there.
front hub
And then maybe hit up one of the sponsors for the spokes to allow you to keep that wheel.
If you don't feel like re-lacing then it may get harder to find what you are looking for.
Either way ... not a "small" job.