new guy. i think i screwed up

Chopped7

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hi guys. i'm Jim in Phoenix, AZ. i've been riding motorcycles a good part of my life with a little 10 yr break through my 20's to get married and have kids and such. i started riding at 6 yrs old on a honda 50, then a Yamaha 100 enduro, Hodaka 100 Super Rat, my buddy in middle school had a Suzuki 185 i rode a lot, in high school i had a Hodaka 125 Combat Wombat, then a Yamaha 400 Special the summer after i graduated. i moved from Washington state to PHX in '03 and it didn't take long to want to start riding again with this weather. i found a 650 Suzuki Savage on CL for a good price and picked it up to see if commuting on a bike was for me. Well, it was and i started drinking the Harley Kool Aid for the last 10+ years. My last Harley started falling apart recently at 70k plus miles and i didn't think it was worth fixing everything. A guy at work wanted it so i gave him a good deal.

i wanted to go without a bike for a while. that was my plan anyway. It didn't work. I convinced my wife i would just get a cheap old bike to ride to work, save money on gas, have extra transportation, etc. The bike I found happened to be a 1973 TX 650. It's kind of a project but it's mostly complete and the seller said it ran, there is just a problem with the clutch. That's what lead me here. A lot of my Google searches came to this forum so I registered. i have never had a bike like this so I'm sure I will have a bunch of questions for you guys as i get into getting this bike on the road.

I started it today for the first time. there were no fuel lines from the tank so i finally got around to plumbing that. To my surprise, it fired right up. To my dismay, it smokes like big bro truck rolling coal but it's blue. i was really hoping to just clean this thing up and bolt on some stuff to make it look nicer, and ride it. Oh well. you win some you lose some. I'm looking forward to being part of this community.