New guy

Getmitchorditryn

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been riding sport bikes and Harleys for 12 years but j ust bought my first xs650 (1979). 10,000 original miles, 1 owner. It leaks some oil on the engine gasket seals so that will be my first repair. Just looking for some advice on what else to look into to start. I've already read the rotella oil debate stuff.... How about an oil filter, fuel, etc.

Thanks!

Image-1.jpg

Hi mitch! Welcome to the party! That's a sweet lookin' '79! :thumbsup: As for the oil "leak" (seep?), is it around the cylinders, top end, or side cases? Before you tear it apart, try removing the tank and top motor mount (if necessary), and give it a re-torque (refer to the manual for sequence and torque specs). Same for the right side (clutch cover). Rumor has it, these bikes vibrate, :laughing: and hardware tends to loosen, gaskets tend to "squish". If it's leaking on the left side, it could be the clutch rod seal. you'd be hard pressed to find a 40-year-old anything that doesn't leak something. Give it a little love, and it'll love you right back! :bike: Let us know. Don't be a stranger! :wink2:
P.S. You might want to think (hard!) about changing those handle bars to something a little more ergonomic (for humans). o_O

Yes, these are old bikes. Even the ones that look to be in good shape like yours still need a good going through. I usually start with the wiring, inspecting and cleaning it and all the connections. Also, repairing any rubbed bare wires I find, and there's usually a few. Next, you should probably go through your brakes, disassembling and cleaning the master cylinders and calipers. The rubber brake lines will most likely need replacing too.