New to 650s

Chris fertig

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I'm new to the yamaha 650 scene and was wondering if I could get some pointers or help. I just recently picked up a 77 XS that has been hard tailed already. But that's it. It came with three incomplete engines and about 7 boxes of random and duplicate parts for it. I want to try and tackle this build on my own and am confident I can but I sure could use some pointers before I dive in to this engine and ignition. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Hey Chris, welcome! But too much of a general ask in your post, not sure what you're looking for asssitance with. Folks here will be more than happy to help ya out though.

Did those 3 engines by chance come with 1 manual? Lol.

I guess the first step would be to see if any of those 3 engines are a match to the frame. Check the numbers on the steering neck against the engine numbers. The engine serial number is on the front of the case by the front mount .....

uMBvYCt.jpg

If you find a match, that's the one I would try to renovate.

Hey Chris, welcome! But too much of a general ask in your post, not sure what you're looking for asssitance with. Folks here will be more than happy to help ya out though.

Did those 3 engines by chance come with 1 manual? Lol.
Yes sir they did come with a manual. I guess what I'm asking is if there are any tips or tricks when it comes to putting these engines back together or watch out for this or make sure you do this. That kind of thing.

I guess the first step would be to see if any of those 3 engines are a match to the frame. Check the numbers on the steering neck against the engine numbers. The engine serial number is on the front of the case by the front mount .....

uMBvYCt.jpg

If you find a match, that's the one I would try to renovate.
None of them match which I hope doesn't lead to problems tagging it