New xs owner and forum member

Oversby94

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone. My names Stephen and I'm a newbie owner of an '81 xs650, and newbie forum member.

My Dad (60 yrs.) bought an 82 xj650 maxim in need of work last fall, and I was telling him about bobbers I stumbled upon, looking up old school bikes.

The more research I did for him, the more my interest in a Yamaha bobber grew.

Fast forward to this spring when we both got our street bike licences together, and after riding a bit he felt he needed a bigger bike, and was looking to get rid of his maxim. I decided I might try my hand a building a bike.

I started looking into all the work I would've loved to do to customize the bike to my taste and the cost added up quickly. The money wasn't the biggest road block, but that, coupled with work and having 3 kids (girl 7, boy 4, boy again 7 months) spare time is extremely limited, as I'm sure lots of guys/girls are aware. The dream was at a stand still for the time being.

But researching the bikes led me to find a bike for sale a few hours away. Once I rode it it was love at first feel. I've ridden dirt bikes, trikes, quads my whole life, as I grew up in the country, but this was my first taste of my own street bike, and I'm hooked. I bought the bike and am in love with it so far. I'm real keen on learning the nuts and bolts and inner workings to be able to do the work on it myself, and pass the knowledge I gain onto my kids.

Anyways I'm rambling, so here's my bike (any comments or suggestions are appreciated!) :thumbsup:

image.jpg

Hi Oversby and welcome,
Nice bike if you like hardtails.
Even if you don't, there's been a load of work been done to upgrade the engine and the dual front brake conversion is a nice touch.
Although the photos look like it's still running fabric brake hoses?
I'd suggest upgrading to stainless hoses, they really do work better.
I'd also swap in a stock front fender and add a TKAT fork brace to keep the front end steady.