New Xs owner

RobbyG74

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
I bought a 1975 XS650 last year. I am brand new to motorcycles and after seeing the community that these little bikes have I knew I had to have one. I am not mechanical, I have done basic maintenance but I am not afraid to ask for help or pay to have it done right. I have been looking at Hugh's blog and all of the products he offers and I am starting to feel over whelmed.

So here's the deal, my motor has 6300 miles on it. I had the carbs cleaned and the tank sealed last summer. It runs on the first or second kick every time. It feels good on the road, but probably needs some new tires.

Is there anything I NEED to do to this bike? I've been looking in to Hugh's PMA, and also his rebuilding service (mainly to get the re-phase and to clean the motor up (38 years of crud is hard to get off ;-) but my budget is tight and a full re-phase is at least a year out.

Any recommendations would be much appreciated. I'm sure there are tons of articles and threads on what can be done but right now my head is swimming and I need to be shoved in a direction. Thanks!

Have you changed the oil yet?

I would pull and clean the oil filters. 1 side - 1 bottom. The one in the bottom, the sump, will probably need repair. Do a search ont this site and you'll find good info on the repair. Check out the tech section for lots o info.

If you don't have a manual, get one.

Good Luck !

Welcome to the site Robby.
Oil change @ 1k using an oil suitable for wet clutchs. If you stay with oils manufactured for motorcycles use the brand of you choice. Do not think you are getting over by buying cheaper oil for auto's. Check and rinse clean the strainer screens(filters using the term loosely).

Learn to check your cam chain tensoner adjustment. Whichever method (cold, hot, in-between) is better than no adjustment. This will help with chain slap hopefully increasing the life of the front cam chain guide.