New XS650 in Central Texas

NDSinTX

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I just came home with a 1982 XS650 Heritage Special that has been sitting in my father's warehouse for the past 25 years. It will be the basis for my first "build from the ground up" MC project. With the dirt cleaned off of it, it is really one of those once in a lifetime garage finds.

The wiring harness was eaten by a dog over 25 years ago, but that may be the only mechanical problem it has. We shall see.

It is going to be the basis of a street tracker, along the lines of the River Rat City XS650 that I saw last weekend in Austin, or the Mule XS650.

The stock pipes are just about perfect, so I may have to keep them for the build.

Many questions are likely to follow, I'm not very experienced in the mechanical world...

S.

Wow, that was quick! And close! If you are interested in providing free advice (I have no experience with this bike or with building one up), please get in touch. norman dot sanders at gmail dot com, in Wimberley.

Hi Norman and welcome,
congratulations on your find! Me, I'd check it out using the site's excellent resto tips, install a replacement wiring harness, buy it a new battery and tires and go ride the thing.

ttwp.gif

Welcome in!

Welcome.we thrive on pictures!!

Two pix - one when we loaded it on the trailer, it's first daylight in over 25 years, and the second after a healthy dose of Hill Country Rain on the trip from Llano to Wimberley, plus a healthy squirt of the hose and some S100.

Attachments

• Image00001 Small.jpg
    Image00001 Small.jpg
    240.8 KB · Views: 304
  • Image00002 Small.jpg
    Image00002 Small.jpg
    214.5 KB · Views: 297
That looks amazing! you might want to consider finding someone who wants to restore that and can/would trade a bike better suited to the angle grinder.

That looks amazing! you might want to consider finding someone who wants to restore that and can/would trade a bike better suited to the angle grinder.