Newbie Build 81 XS Special Brat Style

ckdaly9

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Howdy,
Im a newbie to this site. What a wealth of information, thanks!!
This is my 81 XS650 Special build. I bought it as a complete running bike for $300.00. Now its scattered in pieces on my garage floor and the rest is in the trash.. The pics show the stance im shooting for. Hardtail look with functional rear shocks. Lots of grinding done since these pics, and lots more to go. I'll post more pics as I progress...:wink2:

Attachments

• IMG_4782.jpg
    IMG_4782.jpg
    62.7 KB · Views: 548
  • IMG_4788.jpg
    IMG_4788.jpg
    52.8 KB · Views: 595
hey guys , im new here as well. I picked up an 81 xs650 as well for $450 from a guy on here...started to tear it apart, cleaned carbs and stuff...Ill be doing a brat style as well so ill be following this thread. Maybe well bounce some ideas of each other
http://carphotos.cardomain.com/ride_images/1/3204/3061/8009030021_large.jpg

i dont know how to make them small enough with only 19 kb.....sorry for the size

ckdaly9, Welcome...

I wish I could find a complete running bike for $300! Now the question is: does it have a title?

matt81xs, you should start a thread about your build and we can help you figure out how to post pictures.

yeah it was a super steal. no title but i ran the vin and its clean. Idaho does not require a title, just a bill of sale so shes good. Matt I'd be stoked to bounce ideas with ya, you got lots of fun ahead of ya! Clean bike for the money!!. But yeah, I peep a lot of sites looking for goodies and ideas.. My brother is also building a bobber style brat, i'll get him up on this board too. his is coming along real nice..

Heres the frame after a weekend of grinding. gotta re-locate the shock mounts this weekend to accomodate my stance. I work on the road so i only have the weekends to work on her, but I plan on having a lot done this weekend.

Attachments

• downsize.jpg
    downsize.jpg
    80.6 KB · Views: 432