1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Facebook people... We've created a group for XS650.com members to connect. Check it out!
    Dismiss Notice

newbie here

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by zman, Dec 30, 2009.

Tags:
  1. zman

zman XS650 Member

denver
    new to the site and the xs650 just picked up my first one hoping to do a hardtail and few other things to make a little bobber out of here's what she looks like right now. [​IMG]

2. crash

crash XS650 Junkie

welcome zman.keep us posted on the progress of the chop.

3. Travis

Travis Staff Member XS650.com Supporter

"few other things" ... Like what?

Does it run?

4. zman

zman XS650 Member

denver
    not sure if it runs hooked a battery tester up and turned the key on lights and stuff work but starter just makes a buzz noise its been sitting for along time. as for other things i wanna do is maybe get some spoked wheels for it or maybe drill the mags like ardcores baf penny i think it was, maybe a sporty tank. like i said though this is my first bike project so not to sure what to do or how to do to much. but i got this bike a 79 kawasaki 650 and a 70's montero dirt bike all for $150 so i dont think i did to bad at least i hope i didnt.

5. Travis

Damn!!! Nice price! You did great!

Ever try kicking the XS650 over a few times to see what it does?

I would spend a little time trying to get it running before you rip into it. It might not be all that hard to get going and you'll feel better know the motor is good (or at least runs). Then you can ride it and see if you even like it before you put a lot of time, energy, and money into it.

6. zman

zman XS650 Member

denver
    i tried kicking it it has compression i was just going to tear it down sicne it been sitting so long i figured theres been bad gas sitting in there idk just really dont know anything about them.

7. inxs

inxs xx

- no problem, do a good check over before you go maybe creating work for yourself

8. bloodhound