No spark on one side

warrenlevihursh

XS650 Addict
Reaction score
Background: I am not good with electrical stuff. Its a 1978 with points and original coils. Bought the bike with the advance rod, points, weights etc in a box. Not running do to being an unfinished project. I finally got all the small missing pieces and attempted to assemble everything last night. I am pretty sure everything is correct, I've read a fair amount here on the forum.

My question is, could the spark problem be due to the points being incorrect? I assume the brushes on the rotor couldn't be the problem because my spark issue is only on one cylinder? I am leaning to a coil problem because the spark switched sides when I switched the coil wires. I am going to Ohms test the coils when I have time.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Yup charging system is completely separate if you are working from a fully charged battery.

Yes ohm out the coils, set points, test condensers. Consider a new points, condenser set, points wear out, condensers die of old age. check plug wires and caps (swap)
As always check all wires, connectors, grounds.

Yes, it could be a points problem. Maybe only one set is functioning correctly. Or maybe there's a break in the wire leading from one points set to the coil. You said you switched wires at the coils and the spark changed sides. I'm assuming you switched the wires that come up from the points. That would seem to indicate either a problem in one of the wires or with the points set it connects to. One points set and it's wire will fire either coil, the other won't fire at all.