'nother New Guy?

Spockwerks

NAMAZU Pez de Terremoto
Reaction score
Spockwerks calling, nice to see you.
New to the list, been riding my '83 XS650 "Namazu the Earthquake Fish" for 30 years. Time for a change. Just ordered a Monstercraftsman Brat Kit and am thinking 750cc kits. Turning things inside out kinda like graffiti style and that means paint. Seeing color on the frame, maybe pot black on the tins, any thoughts? I do like what I have been seeing on the web these days, fresh, bold, kids building bikes older than they are, and this is where it's happening. I am a retired Art Teacher, made a great career out of breaking the rules and getting away with it. A rebel among rebels. I can attest with pride that not one of my students has ever been afraid of me, and I have taught every Art class from PreK to 12th grade.
Cheers, Lads

Welcome to the forum, Spockwerks.

Earthquake fish???

I sense some seriously demented and creative potential here.
After 30 years, maybe it is indeed time to push thru that envelope.
I hope that you can balance sound engineering with creativity...

Hi Spockwerks and welcome,
so long as you retain the rear suspension and front brake, go for it!

I'm sure we'd all like to know just how many miles old "Namazu" has accumulated these past 30 years, and some of the problems you've encountered along the way. Any motor rebuilding needed during that time?

OK let's see if this works. Here is a photo taken about 10 years ago, there's been lots of detail changes but overall pretty consistent. For example the Virago headlight has been replaced by an early 60s BSA bucket. That swap was not easy either I had to relocate that whole rats nest the Japanese are famous for. That meant a mostly new wiring harness.