Oil Leaks for the Newbie

Rooskie25

XS650 Member
Reaction score
How it going y'all i have recently bought a steal of a deal on a 1972 XS650, but the biggest problem is I have little to no experience with bikes but I like the journey that awaits, and I'm trying to dive in. Of coarse I'm slowly finding more issues that where not mentioned, like two oil leaks I'm trying to figure out with the help of posts from this page of coarse. I have found out my clutch push oil seal is one of the culprits if not the main. I have a couple photos ill post and was hoping if anyone could help me out and see if they noticed anything else i should be worried about while I'm down here. also threw in my recent purchase, hope to hear from some of y'all soon :rolleyes:
some of y'all soon :rolleyes:
IMG_0632.PNG
photo1.jpeg
photo2.jpeg
photo3.jpeg
photo 4.jpeg

That's strange that someone would have sealed off the neutral wire like that.

The neutral switch can develop a pretty good leak between the black plastic part and the metal housing. The black part gets loose. This happened on my ‘77, I was able to make it oil tight again by taking a punch and carefully staking the metal around the black plastic part to tighten it back up. Like so,
71445ED8-2C2F-49BD-A754-E8CE15AC2883.jpeg
E31A09CE-B54C-493A-AF68-74D394D8951C.jpeg
B89981D0-037D-4062-87B7-8EA22D0BC0D5.jpeg

This is also a good chart showing some of the most common leaks on these motors. Photo courtesy of gggGary.
D28FD6BF-6601-42A0-971E-CEA06426D60D.jpeg

i appreciate the quick response y'all, yeah the neutral switch gushes oil out, I just have a tough time trying to get it out, something ill have to read up on. That crank shaft area along with sprocket are are intimidating to get into in order to tighten/put new seals on. Any tips when moving that way?