OMG 5twins Centerstand Mods

Gordon in nc

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
This should probably just be added to another thread but I'm in a hurry so I'll just do it here. My 75B came with a broken centerstand. The tang (for lack of a better term) was broken off of it. I welded a short piece of metal on it so I could at least get my foot on it and just lived with it. I could get it on the stand but it took some effort. My background is with Brits and all of those I own take some effort to get them on the centerstand so I thought I was okay.........fast forward to me adding some hardbags to the bike and I lost the lifting handle and couldn't get the bike up without it....so I jury rigged up another lifting handle and I was back in business.

I had picked up a 75B parts bike and it had a good centerstand but it looked like it came over on the Mayflower and I just set it aside until I had time to sort it out. WELL, I finally got it sandblasted and painted, installed the brace and zert mods with 5twins talking me through it. Mounted that sucker today and I will tell you boys and girls......I am freaking amazed. I had read that downward pressure on the tang was all you needed to raise the bike....to be honest I didn't believe it...until 15 mins ago. I have never had a bike go up on the stand so easily....I only used the lifting handle to steady the bike.

When I took the old stand off, the pins were dusty/rusty dry and I KNOW I had greased them with high dollar waterproof grease when I put them in. With those zerts in place that will never happen again.

I am so happy with the results.....thank you 5twins for the help and for sharing your wisdom.

YGS.........Gordon Gray in North Carolina

Last edited:
Great job Gordon on the centre stand repair and mods! Yes, the downward pressure on the tang trick, is a real mechanical engineering feat.