Opinions on which hardtail to buy

Morgantician

XS650 Member
Reaction score
I'm planning on hardtailing my '82, and was wondering if anyone has opinions on whether to get the premaid hardtail by TC Bros or G&L Choppers.

Obviously the TC Bros are way more common, but for my first build I'm not looking to make something new and exciting. Is there any build quality difference between the two is primarily what I'm wondering.

The TC Bros one seems to be slightly cheaper, but I'm about an hour from Colorado Springs, so I could save on the shipping of the G&L one. So they'd end up being about the same price.

And I'm planning on installing it myself - I just don't have the know-how yet to build my own from the ground up.

I went with tc because I was impatient and g&l had at least a 2 month waiting list at the time.

I prefer the 4" stretch of the g&l, but I am still very happy with my 3" stretched tc.

I have no personal experience with none of them but if I decide to go chopper its going to probably be a frame from Ardcore. In my opinion the best way to do it is to cut off your neck to retain the serial # on your old frame and run your stock yamaha front end to avoid running a new bike through the hassle of DMV. My stock bike already has been through there and won't need to go again long as I have that neck. They can build one of their single downtube frames with your neck and put the rake in to make the thing look right. Thats what I believe they did with the Flying W bike and if you ask me it looks damn good. Go to "you tube" and type in "Flying W chopper" and watch the short video of that bike crusing. I would be perfectly happy with it.
jefft

Last edited:
I have heard mostly horror sotries on quality of welds and fitment of the TC section. I would go G+L myself if not a custom hardtail altogether.