Over heated engine and lost compression??

XS650D

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
Trying to fix a problem,let the bike idle way to long and overheated it .Noticed something wasent rite when smoke started coming out the pipe and quickly shut er down but too late.(i should know better on an air cooled bike) I had 134 both cylinders prior to testing.Now i have 95 and 120.I added some oil thru spark plug hole cranked it over a bit and retested and back to 134 both sides but after a quick ride back to 120/95.Other than installing new rings is there anything else that can be done,would the cylinder walls be glazed and maybe adding a teaspoon off baking soda (xsjohn) help or could the compression come back after a good long ride.Just reaching here.Im not experienced enough to do rings i feel.Strangely the bike still runs pretty good but down a bit off power.thx

symptoms sound very similar to my sr500 when the head gasket blew right after replacing the head gasket. I was riding through death valley at the time and the temps were about 108 degrees F. ended up replacing the piston, rings, and all top end gaskets as well as having the cylinder rebored to clean up the damage. mostly my fault for letting a vendor talk me into installing his "economy, but just as good" head gasket. a $400 lesson learned the hard way. hey, shit happens......

Dosent sound good,what will a top end cost approx,will cylinders probably need rebored and should i still be able to keep pistons (just change rings)
If i continue to drive as is what symptoms will i experience.I just came in from a ride and
strangly the bike still runs pretty good,kinda shocked really.