Paint - what's the best process

Capt_Zoom

Raider Rider/xs newbie
Reaction score
Ok, Building my wife's xs650 bratstyle inspired. But how should I do the paint.

She eventually wants a black bike with a white or silver star on the tank. Which is the best process:

1. Paint the tank white or silver, Tape off and then paint black?
2. Paint the tank black then add the white or silver star or flames or whatever? I'm leaning toward this since money's tight and we could add the details later.
3. Clear coat after things are finalized.

I'm no expert but have to think that get the most real estate painted first is the easiest so #2 in my mind would be best. Without assuming too much anyway, it could change depending on the type of color, candy, pearl, satin, etc. But for a straight gloss black gloss silver, that should work.

Are you doing any powdercoating? Do the frame and the tank at the same time, and the black will match. Then paint a silver star, and clear with aerosol Spraymax 2K urethane. $20 a can, but it is catalyzed clearcoat.

You could also use rattlecan black, rattlecan silver, and spraymax clear, and have high gloss with great gas resistance.

We're thinking the black that's on my '08 raider (black with tiny sparkly flecks in it - looks like the night sky).

I've also thought about using silver leaf for the star. I'm going to rattle can the frame with a few coats of matte black.

Best way? Avoid rattle cans. Why are you guys so afraid of real paint? Paint base graphic, tape off what you want to keep. Spray the rest black. Use a nice quality urethane paint, then clear. It will look SO much better than any rattle can and be 4 times as strong. Jump in and do it!

Real paint is great. It costs real money, and means specific equipment like a compressor with appropriate filters, spray gun, respirator, etc. He claims money is tight.