Pampco Pete E-Ignition V1.1

firedog

FIREDOG
Reaction score
Just installed the E Ignition on my 75 xs650
All went well, started right up set the timing. Rode a mile and the bike died
Restarted and will run for a min and shuts off.
Running stock charging system with electronic regulator/rectifier.
New Battery.

Have 12V + on coil and Pampco
Have good ground, dito
Green wire has good conection to coil
Checking with the cam pin removed and a spark tester I have great spark for about 20 revolution.
After turning ignition off for 1 min I can repeat the cycle.
I'm not an electronic expert but it appears something has a bad connection weak solder joint perhaps
Pampco Pete help please!

It was rare to have a bad Pamco. I have a pretty good idea where the problem lies but this is
what you get when you guys badmouth the inventor and go for a copy. Problem lies in the knockoff
components.

And why is PAMCO ignition so important? I can see if you’re gonna build a bobber or chopper and you don’t want anything showing. I get that. But if it’s kinda stock. Why?

And why is PAMCO ignition so important? I can see if you’re gonna build a bobber or chopper and you don’t want anything showing. I get that. But if it’s kinda stock. Why?

A Pamco or other aftermarket ignition is not any less visible than the original ignitions. Points work well enough, but not as good.

Scott

Don't hold your breath for Pete's help. He's not into helping diagnose the cheap MikesXS knock-offs.

BOUGHT THIS IGNITION DIRECT FROM PAMCO WEBSITE INCLUDING TH E COIL ABOUT A YEAR AGO
IT WAS JUST INSTALLED BECAUSE THE RESTO TOOK ME LONGER THAN I EXPECTED.
FOLLOWED THE DIAGNOSTICS.
NOT LOOSING POSITIVE +
GOOD GROUND
SPINNING THE ROTOR BY HAND I HAVE GREAT SPARK FOR ABOUT 60 SECONDS AND THAN NOTHING
TURNING IGNITION OFF AND ON AGAIN AFTER 10 SEC OR SO I CAN REPEAT THAT BUT I WILL ONLY HAVE SPARK FOR LESS THAN 60 SEC. AND AGAIN LESS THERE AFTER.
THINKING SOMETHING IS WARMING UP AND LOOSES FUNKTION