Petcock and Gas Tank Question

eman13261

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Hey everybody i'm new to the xs world. Ive been working on cars and quads my whole life but just recently got into road bikes and i'm loving it! I have a 1974 xs650 se. The Bike needs a few things one being a new tank.

I want to buy the 64-7700 tank from mikesxs except I hear that although it will fit on the mounting points it will not fit on 1974 petcocks because the mounting holes are too far apart.
My question is could I buy the 20-0019 petcocks that are made to replace 78-84 vacuum type and fitted for the 64-7700 tank, put them on the 64-7700 gas tank and then put the whole setup on the 1974 model? They look the same and they are not vacuum types so i'm assuming they would work fine with maybe a bit of tweaking?

Sorry for my noobish question I just want to be sure before I drop 330$ on a new set up.

Hey everybody i'm new to the xs world. Ive been working on cars and quads my whole life but just recently got into road bikes and i'm loving it! I have a 1974 xs650 se. The Bike needs a few things one being a new tank.

I want to buy the 64-7700 tank from mikesxs except I hear that although it will fit on the mounting points it will not fit on 1974 petcocks because the mounting holes are too far apart.
My question is could I buy the 20-0019 petcocks that are made to replace 78-84 vacuum type and fitted for the 64-7700 tank, put them on the 64-7700 gas tank and then put the whole setup on the 1974 model? They look the same and they are not vacuum types so i'm assuming they would work fine with maybe a bit of tweaking?

Sorry for my noobish question I just want to be sure before I drop 330$ on a new set up.

I believe you must have a 1974 TX650A.....

ttwp.gif

You call it an SE but there are no 74 SE's........

Check this thread to help ID your bike or post up pics and we'll "help" you positively ID it. :D

Hi eman,