Pma conversion, and wiring problems

Liam_macauley

XS650 Member
Reaction score
Hello all,
I previously made a post about my 81xs a few months ago, and talked about the charging issues I had. I took it to a mechanic to have it diagnosed, and was told that the stator went bad, and shorted out the wiring. They told me that I could just get a new stator, and buy a used main harness to wire it back up. I’ve decided I want to go the PMA route, and get rid of the stator all together, as it would cost damn near the same to do either. This will solve my charging issues. However, it won’t solve my wiring issue. I’ve looked at wiring harnesses, new and used, and just don’t really know what to do here. Thought about making my own harness and re-wiring the whole bike, but even that seems like a bad idea on my part. What should I do?? Also, any recommendations on which pma to get? Was thinking of just doing the one from TC Bro’s.
Unfortunately, money is also a factor in this. I’m a college student who doesn’t have a lot of money so any chances to save are appreciated. TIA

There is a member on here @DADDYGCYCLES that makes and sells harnesses. I’d imagine he could help you out as far as wiring goes. PMA wise Hughs Handbuilt seems to have a good product. https://www.vape.eu/en_US/en/yamaha-xs650-15kg-rotor-complete-system This as far as I’ve read seems to be the better option. You can go a DIY route with the Banshee setup. But also do some reading and see if the PMA is actually the way you want to go as it’s not a perfect system. Ask around in the classified section for a stator maybe you’ll get lucky on a used one.

Had a look at the other thread..........Several responses and some suggestions.........no response to the respondents........