Quick dumb questions

Capt_Zoom

Raider Rider/xs newbie
Reaction score
I'm a bit of a newbie to the xs650 helping my wife build her own bratstyle bobber (she's doing all the wrenching except for some motor stuff that I'm doing). She has a 1980 xs 650 that we have running with a carb from a '77 xs650.

1. Is there a simple way to get the mufflers off rather than cutting them off the headpipes. I don't have a tool kit for either bike so I don't have the proper spanner wrenches. We want to take off the mufflers so we can start modding things.

2. We're planning on using pod filters, '77 xs carbs, and unbaffled pipes that will end just behined the stock footpegs. Any suggestions on carb setup, jetting etc.

Thanks. With what we have in mind it should rival my '08 Raider for attention on bike nite.

Last edited:
I'm a bit of a newbie to the xs650 helping my wife build her own bratstyle bobber (she's doing all the wrenching except for some motor stuff that I'm doing). She has a 1980 xs 650 that we have running with a carb from a '77 xs650.

1. Is there a simple way to get the mufflers off rather than cutting them off the headpipes. I don't have a tool kit for either bike so I don't have the proper spanner wrenches. We want to take off the mufflers so we can start modding things.

2. We're planning on using pod filters, '77 xs carbs, and unbaffled pipes that will end just behined the stock footpegs. Any suggestions on carb setup, jetting etc.

Thanks. With what we have in mind it should rival my '08 Raider for attention on bike nite.

Don't buy the cheap pod filters, they seal off air holes for the jets and diaphram. Mikesxs makes a good set. Also, jetting on every bike varies. Its going to take some trial and error to find the right match, but depending on where you live going up one size on the main and one on the pilot seems to be what most people are doing.