Really Disapointed!

jservant

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
My Wife and I have been working on my 83xs650 for a couple of months now, today I finally got it all put together, exited to see if it would run. I had problems with the old petcock being thrashed, consequently, I got a vacuum type petcock used off of E-bay.
I went to the gas station and got some fuel and put it in the tank, Fuel poured out of the carburetors like a river and ruined part of the new paint job!!!:wtf::banghead::mad:
I had fuel all over the Place:mad: Frickin stupid vacuum Petcock f@##!!!

It might be something more than just the petcock. You might want to double check to see if your float needles are seating, and also your float height.

One morning I went out and there was a puddle of gas under the bike. I couldn't find any gas on the bike itself. I was going to start it and see if it would run, then I started wondering where the gas was coming from. The puddle was under the left side cover, right under the circular rotor cover. I took that off and there was a puddle of gas inside the rotor cover. If I'd tried to start it and there was the slightest spark from a rotor brush, it would have blown the side cover off. It was below freezing and I figure the vacuum petcock and a float needle both froze open somehow. Gas had run out the back of the carb and into the air box, down a wire that touched the air box, and on down the wire to where I found the puddle inside the rotor cover.

Don't use vacuum petcocks. I don't like them because they have no "OFF" position. When you buy from ebay you're just getting someones old junk.

When I bought my bike, one of the first things was to remove the vacuum petcocks and install manual petcocks from Mikesxs.com.

Sounds like your carb float valves are not seating fully. However, float valves are not designed to be a tight shut-off.................that's why its important to have working petcocks.