Rebuild anticipation is killing me!

cmyoch

XS650 Junkie
Reaction score
The cylinders are honed and the valves are lapped. I placed my order today for gaskets, etc. and I am now on edge anticipating everything to show up so I can start putting my motor back together. I absolutely cannot wait until my parts get here. I'm hoping this project goes smoothly. I'll take advantage of this time to read up on engine rebuilds.

When I got mine I was a total newb to the 650 and I believe I had the engine in and out of the frame three times before she was finally settled, 7,800 miles ago. You'll be fine.

Thanks for the encouragement. After studying the parts I'm gaining confidence that I'll get it right sooner or later. Even if it takes me a couple times.

Take a deep fuckin' breath! this is no time to be antsy!! Assume the lotus position, and repeat after me..............ahmmmmmmmmm, ahmmmmmmmmmm..........................

The cylinders are honed and the valves are lapped. I placed my order today for gaskets, etc. and I am now on edge anticipating everything to show up so I can start putting my motor back together. I absolutely cannot wait until my parts get here. I'm hoping this project goes smoothly. I'll take advantage of this time to read up on engine rebuilds.

Have you read this:
http://xs650temp.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=EngineModified&action=display&thread=327

Some excellent tips in there.

I got this tip from 5twins: When installing the head gasket, run a very small thin bead of 3bond 1104 (1109?) or Yamabond around the camchain tunnel and the outer stud holes. Its a little insurance against oil passing along the gasket.

Its super important to torque the head studs to the correct torque and to re-do the torque after some riding.