Replace electric starter

Petcha2

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
EB460AC0-1EC2-43BE-A91A-A032C9956B45.jpeg
Hi, all:

I am new to the forum. Proud to say I recently purchased a 1977 Yamaha XS650 (shown above). Real clean, 33K miles, runs pretty well, but needs some work. That’s the fun part. Among other things, previous owner got rid of the starter and it is kickstart only. It starts OK with a couple of kicks, but my knees aren’t what the used to be and I’d like to install an electric starter. How difficult is this? I am a newbie with limited mechanical experience, but, now that I am retired, I have the time and motivation and would really love to learn to do some wrenching on my XS650. I have workbench, a reasonable collection of tools, and a nice garage space. Would love hear your thoughts about what’s involved to replace the electric starter, e.g. time, expense, level of difficulty.

Thank you in advance for any words of wisdom you might offer.

Yes, not too difficult a job, but make sure the starter has, indeed, been removed. Maybe the P.O. just disconnected it but left it in place. Look under the motor. You'll see it if it's there. It's a big electric motor, usually painted black, mounted at the bottom rear of the engine.

20FE9664-5E13-4BB3-80FC-FF7985C967D2.jpeg
Yes, not too difficult a job, but make sure the starter has, indeed, been removed. Maybe the P.O. just disconnected it but left it in place. Look under the motor. You'll see it if it's there. It's a big electric motor, usually painted black, mounted at the bottom rear of the engine.
Nope, starter motor has been removed...

Under the right body side cover is the start solenoid (relay). The positive battery cable goes to one post. The start cable to the other.

A 45 degree lean will keep from spilling the oil when you remove the engine side cover. I've used a couple of tires to lean the bike on with success.

0461229B-6F64-4F50-A273-284D1E816E50.jpeg