Rewire, hopelessly lost

gooch

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
So I bought this 79 Special and there are some fried wires, melted connectors and a lot of stuff that is wired that I don't plan on using.

I want to run the bare min in Michgian, tail, break, head lamp.

I've pulled out the entire harness, right or wrong, I started trying to just isolate what I wanted to keep and replace what was bad but there was too much bad and now it's all out.

I've looked at the wiring diagrams and some look more simple than others, and I think I can follow them for the most part but I'd like some tips and pointers for this job. Should I just buy a bunch of wire and connectors and start from scratch, or would it be wise to just pull apart the sleeves that hold the wire together and protect it and reuse the OEM stuff and connectors.

This is my first build, and my first go at anything elec aside from some small stuff on a honda dirtbike that I had for a few years.

You can do one of two things. Three things. You can get a harness from Mike's for around $80 and use it, or you can strip stuff out of it that you won't use. The problem is your burned connectors and that will get you the connectors. The other thing is wire it from scratch with maybe some 16 ga wire. The more strands the more flexible. Buy a spool all the same color, and some different colors of tape. Then on the ends of the wires wrap the colored tape, which keeps you from having to have wires the right color; a trick I've learned in my short time as an electrician here on Jupiter. In fact you can just use white tape and write the same number on both ends of the wire.

for the ease I want to buy a harness from mikesxs, but at the same time I don't want to waste money on a bunch of connectors and wire that I'm not going to be using, ie. turns and elec start.