Roadster Style Build

gentlemanjim

More Wrenchin than Ridin
Reaction score
I've been playing with my '83 Heritage for a few months originally going to go the Harleyesque cruiser look and all the while I kept thinking I need to get another XS and build a Roadster (Sport Standard). Can't afford nor have the room for another build project I began assmblying the parts - XS750 Std. tank and seat, 2:1 exhaust, cast spoke sheels, CF turn indicators, Seca Turbo front fender, 17x30 520 final drive, Renthal Superbike bar, CF mirrors, GSXR rearsets as well as all the necesary maintenance and updates - Timken bearings, high output coil, iridium plugs oil filter cooler, progressive spings, shocks and Continental sport oriented tires.

Now the fun begins

The Virgin - barn find

XS-1.jpg

The Mock UP

Roadster1.jpg

Roadster2.jpg

The Gutting

XS-3.jpg

First step to resurection

XS-4.jpg

Second Step to Resurection

XS-5.jpg

Im never satisfied when I paint anything like that , without a complete teardown. BUT...you did great.....I like it and might use that idea of the silver/grey. I am way to sloppy to pull it off somehow. Looks good Jim.

Great start! If I had seen that earlier I would have bought a complete titled XS750 standard that sold for $100 Saturday night on Craigslist. Well I still do know of one with the gas tank and front forks cheap yet. what did you use to make the tank sides black?

The tank is in original paint as well as the side covers and tail section. All will be painted midnight blue metalic. Seat two tone black side panels and light grey rider insert - eventually a complete refoam and cover by Sargent

oh man, it is going to look sweet, how does that exhaust sound? you'll have to put up a sound bit, I'm thinking of running that set-up.