RPM troubles around 4000

dwaynemcfarlane

XS650 Enthusiast
Reaction score
Mikuni BS38 xs650D 77

RPM troubles.
I had problems with my rpm in idle and when driving and pressing the clutch.
In idle the carbs more or less had its own life. So i changed the jet pilot, went from 25 to 50. It seemed to help. But when driving in any gear and pressing the clutch the rpm had a tendency to rise.
The clutch had been a problem for a while so I kind a fixed the clutch. Loosened the nut and adjusted the screw etc. well that worked out fine. The RPM started to drop nicely when pressing the clutch. ( it still can be better i recon ).
Now to the new problem and the main reason for my cry for help.
When driving and i hit ca 4000 rpm the engine rev ( is that the right term ?) and wont continue to “accelerate”. Is this because i have to change the main jet or?
Im a newbie so be kind :)

Sincerly Dwayne

PS
I think ive ruled out air leaks.
Fully cleaned carbs adjusted floats to 24mm etc etc.

First of all, changing the pilot from a #25 to a #50 is a HUGE increase. You shouldn't need that even with mods. Usually all that's needed is a one or two size increase. In your case, that would be a 27.5 or 30. You shouldn't need to re-jet at all unless the bike has been modded. Has it been? Do you have different air filters and exhaust?

If the bike is still stock then the issue may not be carb related. It could be your ignition advance rod sticking. That would cause the RPMs to hang high because the ignition is sticking in the advanced position. The advance rod has to be kept lubricated so it can turn freely between the retarded and advanced positions.

According to a 2018 poll conducted by ASS (American Society of Shadetreemechanics), 80% of assumed carburetor problems were caused by ignition defects, 5% were caused by valve train defects, 6% were caused by inadequate compression, 7% were caused by bad fuel, and the remainder were caused by defective carburetors.