Salutations....

majikman

XS650 Member
Reaction score
How's it goin?Being the newbie here let me introduce myself...names Rob and been an XS fan since I was a kid.My father was one of the first Yamaha dealers in my area in 1971 and he had the XS in the showroom and I admired it often,jumping on it and pretending I was drivin it and of course the ole' man would hear me vroom vrooming and pull me off it and kick my ass...!!!!

I have owned two thumpers and last fall after a summer of blood,sweat and fears(workin 12 weeks straight no days off) I decided that I should treat myself to a new winter project.I purchased a 1970 XS-1 and it was something that I looked for because my previous XS's were an 81 and 83,always wanted a 70-72 for sentimental reasons I guess.It was a barn find that had been sitting for 25 years and I had to do the usual carb clean up,clean and set points etc and when finished two kicks and she came back to life.However,now I have run into a problem I was'nt expecting.I intended on using the original frame and making a brat style(cause I like the look and want the rear shocks)/old school chopper(cause I like the chopper look and already have extended tubes).Now I'm thinking I should restore to original.My friend (Harley Guy) said I am nuts to start cuttin' the frame.Now I'm on the fence.Now here's a question I would like to find an answer to.A well built custom 1970 XS will probably have the same value as an original 70 XS no?I have seen customized XS for sale in the $5-$7000 range and an original at best $4500.Any input?I will post pics as soon as I figure it out,,,give me a wrench and I know what I'm doin....this computer stuff is all new to me ....LOL

I wouldn't cut it. A nice '70 will be rarer in a few years then yet another cut bike. The '70 frame is weaker than a later model as well. I'd restore it and be proud you have an early XS. You can easily find a later frame that has already been cut.